Following a car accident in Texas, it is understandable that you want your insurance money as quickly as possible. The same is true if a storm damages your home, if a dog bites you or if you lose a loved one in an unexpected accident. You, like many others, may count on a settlement to pay for the expenses that arise from damages, including medical expenses, home repairs, vehicle repairs and lost wages. So, when the insurance company delays payment to you, it may feel like it has added insult to injury. Fortunately, there are laws that dictate how quickly an insurer must respond to a claim, which Insurance.com explains in detail.
State laws regarding how quickly an insurer must respond to a claim and how quickly it must pay the claimant vary drastically. For instance, some states have guidelines that mandate insurers merely pay within “a reasonable time.” These state laws do not specify what counts as “reasonable” and thereby provide little protection to consumers. Other states, however, require payment within 30 days after parties reach an agreement.
If you want to know how long it will be until you receive your check, look to your insurance policy. Companies with a reputation for paying quickly usually market that information via the quotes and policies, as quick payment is a strong selling point.
If your policy does not include a timeframe, do not panic. Texas is one of the few states with specific guidelines for managing a claim. In Texas, insurance providers must acknowledge a claim within 15 days of receiving it. After requesting all the necessary information, it has an additional 15 days to make a decision. In some situations, it may request an extension of up to 45 days if it offers a valid explanation for doing so. Unfortunately, Texas law does not dictate when an insurer must make the payment after approving a claim.
You should not use this article as legal advice. It is for educational purposes only.